See the winning images of the Indian Astrophotographer of the Year contest

From night-sky landscapes to deep-sky objects, the entrants to the second annual contest submitted a variety of stunning images.
By | Published: December 24, 2023 | Last updated on January 23, 2024

The 2023 edition of the Indian Astrophotographer of the Year contest has concluded — and the winners and shortlisted images are stunners.

The competition is organized by Astronomads Bangla, a group of four astroimagers who met during the COVID-19 pandemic and have since hosted numerous workshops at dark-sky sites across India. This year’s edition — the contest’s second — was judged by a panel of distinguished astrophotographers: Ajay Talwar, Dorje Angchuk, and Vikas Chander. A total of 751 images were submitted by 142 participants.

The winning and shortlisted images were announced in a livestream on Dec. 24, and will also be presented in an exhibition at the M. P. Birla Planetarium in Kolkata from Dec. 31, 203 through Jan. 7, 2024.

For more on the Astronomads Bangla group and the astroimaging community in India, check out the article authored by group co-founder Soumyadeep Mukherjee in our December issue.

Scroll down to see all of the winning and shortlisted images in each category.

Deep sky

Winner — Devesh Pande — The Garlic Pop Nebula

Runner-up — Pravas Deria — The Eagle Nebula

Highly Commended — Anil Kumar MN — The Pleiades

Shortlisted — Abhinav Maroti Vitekar — The Veil Nebula

Shortlisted — Aditya Kinjawadekar — Horse with a Fly

Shortlisted — Harshwardhan Pathak — NGC 7000

Shortlisted — Prabhakaran — Leo Triplet

Shortlisted — Shikhar Gupta — M81 and M82 wide-field with surrounding IFN


Winner — Soumya Banerjee — Stat Tso

Runner-up — Thiruchitrambalam M — Starry Hanle Night

Highly Commended — Umesh Gogna — Celestial Symphony

Shortlisted — Himanshu Kasale — Milky Way arc rising behind Sahyadri mountain range

Shortlisted — Kartik Kota — Milky Way and Lightning Sprites

Shortlisted — Naveen Chellaiah — Cosmic Butterfly

Shortlisted — Ruben — Chasing Stars

Shortlisted — Sneha Chatterjee — Milky Way in Merak

Solar system

Winner — Sona Shahani Shukla — Eclipse on Jupiter

Runner-up — Nihal S Amin — Coronal streamers

Highly Commended — Aditya Kinjawadekar — Dusty Mars

Shortlisted — Kunal Kishor Vaze — Mineral Moon

Shortlisted — Prabhakaran — Crater Plato and its surroundings

Shortlisted — Prakash Subbanna — Sun in Hydrogen-alpha

Shortlisted — Sandeep Mathur — The Omen

Shortlsited — Shivam Bansal — Moon Crossing

Best women astrophotographer

Winner — Vidya Vasudevan — Milky Way and the Mighty Mountain


Shortlisted — Sona Shahani Shukla — The Pelican Nebula

Shortlisted — Vidya Vasudevan — Milky Way and Venus at Golden Hour

Best mobile astrophotographer

Winner — Aditya Kinjawadekar — Milky Way and the mighty Rajgad fort

Shortlisted — Karthik P — Selfie with Milky Way

Shortlisted — Subham Rath — Under the Celestial Canopy Forest Roads by Starlight